218 views 0 comments

"The Jetsons" Season 2 Vol. 1 Arrives on June 2, 2009

by on March 17, 2009

Warner Home Video has announced the Jetsons Season 2, Volume 1, will be shipping on DVD on June 2, 2009. The set will continue the misadventures of the family from tomorrow, with 21 episodes on 3 discs. Suggested retail price is $34.98.

The full press release follows.


♫”Meet George Jetson…”♫
The Jetsons: Season 2, Volume 1
Available June 2 on DVD from Warner Home Video

BURBANK, CA(February 9, 2009)-Prepare to blast off for out-of-this-world laughs with the first family of the future as The Jetsons: Season 2, Volume 1 arrives on DVD June 2, 2009 from Warner Home Video (WHV). The popular animated series and pop-culture phenomenon explores the world of tomorrow with space age gadgets that made life ultra-convenient for everyone’s favorite futuristic family, The Jetsons. The three-disc collector’s set includes 21 fantastic episodes of the cult-classic cartoon series from the 1980s and is priced to own at $34.98 SRP.

“Meet George Jetson…Jane, his wife…daughter Judy…his boy Elroy…”

The catchy tune of The Jetsons ideally captures the lighthearted essence of the show, a futuristic counterpoint to The Flintstones that reflected the space-age optimism of the times. The Jetsons were the very first family, animated or not, to have a big-screen home entertainment system decades before it became a reality. They lived in a world of flying cars, floating cities and androids, all commonplace elements in today’s most popular sci-fi movies and television series.

The original series (Season 1), comprised of 24 episodes, was produced between 1962 and 1963 and was re-run on Saturday morning for decades. Its continued popularity led to further episodes being produced for syndication between 1985 and 1987. The Jetsons: Season 2, Volume 1 includes the 21 episodes broadcast between 1984 and 1985. The release will also include a documentary featurette called, “The Jetsons Return to the Future,” which looks at the various ways that the second season was updated for a new audience, as well as how it distinguished itself from its predecessor. Interviews include animation historians, cast, crew and others.


Disc 1:
1. Elroy Meets Orbitty
2. Rosie Come Home
3. Solar Snoops
4. Judy’s Birthday Surprise
5. SuperGeorge
6. Family Fallout
7. S.M.A.S.H.

Disc 2:
1. The Mirrormorph
2. Mother’s Day for Rosie
3. Jetson’s Millions
4. Fugitive Fleas
5. Rip-Off Rosie
6. Far-Out Father
7. Astro’s Big Moment

Disc 3:
1. The Cosmic Courtship of George & Jane
2. Fantasy Planet
3. S’no Relative
4. Instant Replay
5. Haunted Halloween
6. Future Tense
7. The Wrong Stuff

$34.98 SRP
Street Date: June 2, 2009
Languages: English
Subtitles: English, Portuguese, French
Audio: Dolby Surround Stereo
Color / Closed Captioned
Rating: NR
Running time: 462 minutes

With operations in 90 international territories Warner Home Video, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company, commands the largest distribution infrastructure in the global video marketplace. Warner Home Video’s film library is the largest of any studio, offering top quality new and vintage titles from the repertoires of Warner Bros. Pictures, Turner Entertainment, Castle Rock Entertainment, HBO Home Video and New Line Home Entertainment.

Related Content from ZergNet:

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


You must log in to post a comment