1. Episode 13 of the Toonzone Podcast is live! Listen to it here: http://www.toonzone.net/toonzone-podcast-episode-13/

We discuss The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, the Nintendo Switch, 20 years of Toonami, Toonami’s first era on Cartoon Network, the Adult Swim era, and what we’d like to see from Toonami in the future.

Dismiss Notice

what's with the internet's obsession with the pre-school show lazy town?

Discussion in 'The Entertainment Board' started by Mikurotoro92, Jan 10, 2017.

1. Mikurotoro92

Mikurotoro92 Well-Known Member

i'm serious

why is the internet SO enamored by this show?

specifically the song "we are number one"

how did this all start?

thanks in advance!

2. SparkleMan

SparkleMan Active Member

I'm a pro memer, so I'm the best one to tell this story. It started as a youtuber named Silvagunner uploaded a "video game song rip" to We Are Number One. The meme quickly spread as memers everywhere turned other Lazytown songs into memes as a result.
    Praise our overlord: 1481597355_preview_068f8a9897846991d4eb7b664c44783e_400x400.jpg

3. PinkiePie97

PinkiePie97 The Joy and the Laughter

Didn't know exactly how it started. Though I do know that it also has to do with a GoFundMe dedicated to helping Robbie Rotten's actor, Stefan Karl, recover from cancer. I don't really care for the memes, but I do like that it's been helping him and that he and the LazyTown YouTube channel have embraced all this.

• Like Like x 1
    #3 PinkiePie97, Jan 10, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
  4. SparkleMan

SparkleMan Active Member

We are number one happened, THEN the GoFundMe happened.

5. PinkiePie97

PinkiePie97 The Joy and the Laughter

Ah. I didn't know it became a meme until after I heard about the GoFundMe. Though I'm guessing the GoFundMe helped it blow up.

6. Toon4Thought

Toon4Thought Giving a slightly closer look.