Viacom blocks Cable One users from their websites

Discussion in 'Cafe toonzone' started by Zorak Masaki, May 10, 2014.

  1. Zorak Masaki

    Zorak Masaki Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,418
  2. The ShopSoldier

    The ShopSoldier DISGRACEULLY Beating People Up

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7,129
    Location:
    Don't Come in, It Stinks!
    Due to a lack of regulation, it isn't - but Dear God Almighty, it should be. You won't see this happen in Europe or Asia, or even the Middle East. EVER.

    This screams bigger conspiracy - like that of the Comcast - Time Warner merger...

    This corporate fascism is all connected. I just know it is...
     
  3. Shawn Hopkins

    Shawn Hopkins TZ Member of the Year 2013

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    29,446
    Location:
    Winner's Circle
    There are whole countries around the world that filter every person there's internet for political and other purposes.
     
  4. defunctzombie

    defunctzombie Cutie Pie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    14,178
    Location:
    Dream Land
    People are within their rights to use an anonymizer or public wifi to see the shows for now, but I agree it does seem like a stupid decision. You can't just up and switch providers, especially in rural areas.
     
  5. RandomMe

    RandomMe Stave it off

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    28,771
    Location:
    Braga, Portugal
    My TV provider NEVER did that! (with any channel that had a carriage dispute)
     
  6. barcncpt44

    barcncpt44 Road, Weather, Newsjunkie Geek

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Anniston, AL
    Being one who lives in a town with Cable One, it has people angry, and you should go to the Cable One Facebook page and read the comments! Anyways, I can still watch episode clips on any Viacom site. I can not watch full episodes on any Viacom site. If I get a blocked video, I get this message.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. RandomMe

    RandomMe Stave it off

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    28,771
    Location:
    Braga, Portugal
    Like I said before, my TV provider NEVER did that! They never restricted us from visiting the website of a certain channel.
     
  8. Zorak Masaki

    Zorak Masaki Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,418
    According to Cable One, its Viacom, not Cable One, who blocked the content. At least you can still watch (some) viacom shows on hulu.
     

Share This Page