Fanfics and Legal issues...

Discussion in 'Story Board Workshops' started by EJLD4Ever, Aug 12, 2008.

1. EJLD4Ever

EJLD4Ever Animation Student

Hello, all! I am a newbie with a question I need answered. After seeing fan fictions and fan art of many shows posted publically online, I cringe at the thought of how the authors/artists had to obtain permission/rights to post their works. And to be honest, I have written several fanfics, but NEVER bothered to get them published at this point (to prevent lawsuits). Cowardly as it is, I need my questions answered before I am convinced it is safe to do so:

How exactly do you obtain permission to post the fanfics/fan art?
    Who do you contact? The studio? The series creator? The network who "owns"/airs the show? Who?
    Do they expect payment of any kind? How much?

Answers to these questions would be greatly appreciated...

2. AlgeaX

AlgeaX Oh, hello?

I'm neither a lawyer or a fanfic writer but I do have a general familiarity with these topics and will tell you all I know, for what it's worth.

By definition fanfic is almost always written and posted without the knowledge or consent of the actual copyright owners. It is virtually unheard of for copyright holders to take legal action against fanfic writers. Which is not to say they couldn't sue you in theory but since most fanfic authors never earn a cent of their work, it's not worth the effort. General rule of thumb, as long as you don't try making any money off you writings, your safe.

Unless you have serious aspirations to become a professional writer; I wouldn't bother contacting Disney with your script for Darkwing Duck: The Movie and even then they won't accept unsolicited material.

As I said above, fanfic is by definition unofficial and unaffiliated with the copyright holders. You don't need their permission or to pay them a cent.