PDA

View Full Version : A "Virus Alert" e-mail I recieved...



TimTwoFace
02-06-2003, 02:20 AM
I think I recieved this one MONTHS ago, and I think it's a hoax. Can anyone verify this for me?

Thanks!

-Tim

* * * * * * *





I have just been advised by one of my email contacts that a virus
infected their address book which means my address book has also been
infected. Since you are in my address book, there is a good chance you
will find it in your computer too.

The virus (called jdbgmgr.exe) is not deleted by Norton or McAfee
anti-virus systems. The virus sits quietly for 14 days before damaging
the
system. It is sent automatically by messenger and by the address book,
whether or not you sent emails to to your contacts.

Here's how to check for the virus and how to get rid of it: I did it
for mine, found it and deleted it.

YOU MUST DO THIS
1. Go to Start, Find or search option
2. In the file folder option, type the name jdbgmgr.exe
3. Be sure you search your C: drive and all sub-folders and any other
drives you may have.
4. Click "find now"
5. The Virus has a Teddy Bear icon with the name jdbgmgr.exe DO NOT OPEN
IT
6. Go to Edit (on the menu bar), choose "select all" to highlight the
file without opening it.
7. Now go to File (on the menu bar) and select delete. It will then go
to the Recycle Bin.

IF YOU FIND THE VIRUS, YOU MUST CONTACT ALL THE PEOPLE IN YOUR ADDRESS
BOOK, SO THEY CAN ERADICATE IT IN THEIR OWN
ADDRESS BOOKS.

TO DO THIS
a. Open a new e-mail message
b. Click the icon of the address book next to the "TO"
c. Highlight every name and add to "BCC"
d. Copy this message, enter subject paste to e-mail

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Best Regards

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


_________________________________________________________________
STOP MORE SPAM with the new MSN 8 and get 2 months FREE*
http://join.msn.com/?page=features/junkmail

Pihlajamaa
02-06-2003, 02:27 AM
It's a hoax. Ignore it.

TimTwoFace
02-06-2003, 03:59 AM
OK, thought so, I was just checking. Let that be a warning to any other TZ members that might be getting this e-mail in their inbox, too!

-Tim

Lucky Bob
02-06-2003, 07:24 AM
Always check out www.snopes.com (http://www.snopes.com) if you are unsure.

creeper
02-06-2003, 05:32 PM
hey wait...i actually have this on my computer...does it mean that it's not fake?

Cyber E.
02-06-2003, 05:41 PM
This is just a hoax. Symantec.com reported this awhile ago, it said "Symantec Security Response encourages you to ignore any messages regarding this hoax. It is harmless and is intended only to cause unwarranted concern." You can find the article here (http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/jdbgmgr.exe.file.hoax.html).

-aJb

Daniel P
02-06-2003, 05:48 PM
I've gotten it before. It's a hoax, and most ones like that are.