View Full Version : I just recieved an e-mail from ADV Films...
GrantM
08-27-2005, 06:53 AM
Okay I got to check my e-mail on Yahoo, and one that I got caught my attention, it was from a guy claiming to be a talent scout from ADV Films.
In the e-mail this guy says he looked on my LiveJournal and listened to the clips I posted, he says he was floored by them and claims I have untapped talent and hopes I can audition for them soon
Now I'm not really sure if this e-mail is fake or not, on the one hand it has to be fake because this person never mentioned the crap I did on my LJ.
But what if it's not....I honestly don't know
I'd post the e-mail I got here but I don't know if that's a good idea or not, and I know I should stop talking about voice acting here, but I must know if the e-mail I got is fake or not
Cheesecake
08-27-2005, 08:48 AM
good luck!
GrantM
08-27-2005, 09:20 AM
good luck!
I'm still not sure if it's fake or not
Dark Fact
08-27-2005, 11:01 AM
Are you certain that the letter came directly from ADV films? Have you been able to verify it?
GrantM
08-27-2005, 11:03 AM
Are you certain that the letter came directly from ADV films? Have you been able to verify it?
How do I verify an e-mail address?
rubberchicken
08-27-2005, 11:23 AM
Send a message TO ADVfilms (using a customer service address from off their site, not a reply to the one you received) and ask if it's legit. Simplest way.
GrantM
08-27-2005, 11:32 AM
Send a message TO ADVfilms (using a customer service address from off their site, not a reply to the one you received) and ask if it's legit. Simplest way.
Okay done that
Chad Bonin
08-27-2005, 01:27 PM
Or, ya know, if the email ain't something like Professor.Snugglesworth@advfilms.com or something...
GrantM
08-27-2005, 01:32 PM
Or, ya know, if the email ain't something like Professor.Snugglesworth@advfilms.com or something...
Nah, the e-mail didn't look anything like that, can I post it here?
Chad Bonin
08-27-2005, 01:34 PM
Um, yes. I presume you can.
FlyByNite77
08-27-2005, 05:43 PM
Nah, the e-mail didn't look anything like that, can I post it here?Umm I dunno, do you think if it is real the ADV rep would want their email published? I could see people emailing him/her and complaining about their dubs and bugging them to get jobs, etc...
Matt-a-Tastic
08-27-2005, 05:46 PM
And not to mention moaning about the extras cut out of the boxsets lol
Zyber
08-28-2005, 05:30 PM
Uhm, do you really think that with all the advice you've been given by professional VAs in the industry, both anime and commercial that someone would just pop out of the blue and do this?
1) Knowing more than a few of the VAs from ADV, that is not how they audition nor inform people about casting. I doubt you would be given special treatment.
2) You have managed to incur the *attention* of several groups in anime, most of which have fun messing with your head. More than a fair bet that is what this is.
Sorry, but it's a 95% chance or better that someone is having fun at your expense.
Come on, as if a talent scout from ADV (the company you just happen to want to work for) would randomly be roaming around on the internet and stumble upon it.
Someone's having fun messing with you.
Sailor Chibi Otaku
08-28-2005, 05:54 PM
It isn't legit.
If it were from someone from ADV, they would have given you advice on how to become a better VA. Plus, didn't you delete your LJ?
Post the e-mail. It'll give us a better look at the fake e-mail.
G1Ravage
08-28-2005, 09:36 PM
I'm fairly certain anime production companies don't "scout" people on the Internet.
GrantM
08-29-2005, 03:09 AM
Well thanks to David Williams whom I told about this, I just found out it is fake.
KasumiTen
08-29-2005, 10:53 AM
Well thanks to David Williams whom I told about this, I just found out it is fake.Hopefully you did take advantage of the opportunity in your email to him to attach your VA resume?
Wanted
08-29-2005, 11:44 AM
Well thanks to David Williams whom I told about this, I just found out it is fake.Dang... does that mean they'll never respond to me in response to the mail I sent them requesting information about their Mainframe Entertainment DVDs? Well, here comes another "Toonmaster Barrage".
GrantM
08-29-2005, 12:50 PM
Hopefully you did take advantage of the opportunity in your email to him to attach your VA resume?
I did reply, but I did not attach my resume
Besides I just got an e-mail from ADV saying that anyone from ADV who has an e-mail address has advfilms.com after it and not gmail.com
Besides I just got an e-mail from ADV saying that anyone from ADV who has an e-mail address has advfilms.com after it and not gmail.comDude, you should have started from there. Businness people ALWAYS use their company emails to contact others if it's work-related.
GrantM
08-29-2005, 03:00 PM
Dude, you should have started from there. Businness people ALWAYS use their company emails to contact others if it's work-related.
But I didn't know that, no wonder people from ADV don't give out their e-mail addresses
GrantM
08-30-2005, 03:05 PM
Well I'm now fully convinced it's a fake, Janice Williams just sent me a PM confirming that
I guess I should get rid of it, but I think I'll keep it, just as a reminder to never do what I did on the net again
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.